Offices in Knoxville and Jacksboro, TN
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Call for a Free Consultation | We are Available 24/7

Call Us423-449-7980

We are Available 24/7

Knoxville DUI Defense Lawyer

Campbell County DUI Defense Lawyers

Attorney for First Offense Drunk Driving Arrests in Knox County and Anderson County

Over the last several decades, government organizations and private groups have spent billions of dollars and countless hours on educational campaigns to build awareness regarding the dangers of drunk driving. Each year, however, thousands of drivers are arrested and charged with driving under the influence (DUI). In addition to being extremely dangerous, driving under the influence is illegal and a conviction could dramatically affect your life, even if it is only your first offense.

At The Law Office of William F. Evans, we understand that the state of Tennessee takes a particularly hard line against drunk driving, and the penalties for a first-time conviction are among the harshest in the country. If you are facing charges of DUI for the first time, our experienced DUI defense attorney will provide the guidance you need to protect your rights and your future.

Consequences of a First-Time DUI Conviction

When you are charged with DUI for the first time, the outcome of your case will depend on the specific circumstances involved. It is important to understand, however, that if you are convicted on DUI charges, Tennessee law requires a minimum jail sentence of at least 48 hours for a first-time DUI conviction, with up to 11 months and 29 days of incarceration possible. You will also face probation, fines of up to $1,500, and a one-year revocation of your driver’s license, and you will be required to attend mandatory DUI school and a MADD victim impact panel at your expense.

Weighing Your Options in Tennessee

According to Tennessee law, defendants who are facing charges for DUI are not eligible for the diversion programs that are often available to first-time offenders charged with other crimes. It may be possible, however, to reach an agreement with prosecutors that could help you avoid a conviction and the subsequent penalties. Depending on the circumstances, for example, our attorney William F. Evans might be able to negotiate with prosecutors to have your charges reduced to reckless driving, which could make you eligible for a diversion program.

At The Law Office of William F. Evans, we know that the Tennessee criminal justice system can be confusing and overwhelming, especially for a first-time offender. We will take the time to help you fully understand your available options and will work with you in making the best possible decisions for yourself and your loved ones.

Getting Back on the Road

If you are convicted of drunk driving charges for the first time in Tennessee, your driver’s license will be revoked for one year. During that time, you will probably still need to get to and from work, school, and other obligations. Tennessee law provides a few options for you to get back on the road legally while your license is suspended. In most situations, having an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle will allow you to drive anywhere at any time. If your blood alcohol content (BAC) was 0.08 or higher at the time of your arrest, an ignition interlock device is required before you can legally drive again.

A restricted license could provide another avenue for getting back on the road. With a restricted license, you would be permitted to drive at certain times and only in certain places. For example, the terms of your restricted license could allow you to commute back and forth to work on weekdays only. Our team can help you decide which driving relief options are available for your unique situation.

Call 423-449-7980 Today

To learn more about our firm and how we can help you defend against first-time DUI charges, contact our office. Call 423-449-7980 to schedule a free consultation. We represent clients in Knox County, Blount County, Sevier County, Campbell County, Anderson County, Scott County, and throughout East Tennessee. We also assist with DUI citations issued by the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency (TWRA) in areas such as Windrock, Brimstone, and Royal Blue.

Lead Councel TACDL Elite Lawyer Top 40 Under 40 Tennessee Trial Lawyers Association National College of DUI Defense Member DWI Detection Certificate
Back to Top