Offices in Knoxville and Jacksboro, TN
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Call for a Free Consultation | We are Available 24/7

Call Us423-449-7980

We are Available 24/7

4 Things That Might Happen After You Get a DUI in Tennessee

Posted on in DUI/DWI

Knoxville DUI defense lawyerGetting a DUI can be, at best, very unpleasant and, at worst, life-altering. The initial legal penalties can be difficult to deal with, and then there are likely to be more far-ranging collateral consequences. There is a lot of risk involved when you are charged with a DUI. Depending on the outcome of the case, you could be more or less free to go back to your life as it was before, or you could end up serving time in jail and facing more serious consequences. If you were arrested for DUI, the best thing to do is call a lawyer as soon as you possibly can, even if it is from a police station or from jail. The sooner an attorney takes on your representation, the better they can manage the criminal process. 

What Are Some Possible Consequences of a DUI in Knox County?

The judge typically has quite a bit of discretion in a DUI case. Even if you are convicted or ultimately plead guilty, there is a wide range of potential sentences. While DUI offenses carry mandatory minimum sentencing, you may be able to avoid some of the harshest penalties available if your case is well-handled. 

Possible consequences that could come with a DUI include: 

  • Jail time - A first DUI carries a minimum of 48 hours in jail. However, if your B.A.C. was 0.20% or higher, the minimum jail sentence is seven days. Those are the minimums. You could, however, serve up to a year in the county jail on a first offense. That is also for a simple, first-time DUI. If this is your second or subsequent offense, or there were aggravating circumstances like an injury to someone else, the sentencing could include more than a year in prison. 
  • License revocation - On a first conviction, you will not be able to drive for a year. On a second conviction, it will be two years. If you get more than two DUIs, the suspensions will get longer and longer. 
  • Financial loss - The fines associated with a DUI can be significant. You could be fined up to $1,500 for a first offense on top of any restitution you are ordered to pay to any victims if you caused an accident or property damage. 
  • Mandatory substance abuse treatment - Courts tend to assume that anyone convicted of DUI is an alcoholic or addict. Even if you do not need it, you could be forced to attend treatment. 

Call a Knox County DUI Lawyer

If you are facing DUI charges, The Law Office of William F. Evans can help. Our experienced Knoxville DUI attorneys are skilled at reducing the odds of harsh punishment. Call 423-449-7980 right away for a free consultation. 

 

Source:

https://www.tn.gov/safety/publicsafety/duioutline.html

Lead Councel TACDL Elite Lawyer Top 40 Under 40 Tennessee Trial Lawyers Association National College of DUI Defense Member DWI Detection Certificate
Back to Top