Offices in Knoxville and Jacksboro, TN
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Call for a Free Consultation | We are Available 24/7

Call Us423-449-7980

We are Available 24/7

Boating Under the Influence in Tennessee

Posted on in DUI/DWI

Campbell County BUI Lawyer

Here in Tennessee, we are fortunate enough to live in a state with a wide variety of year-round outdoor recreation opportunities. For many Tennesseans, recreational boating is the top choice. Unfortunately, recreational boating accidents are much more common than we would like to think. According to the United States Coast Guard, there were 4,291 recreational boating accidents in the U.S. in 2017. More than 2,000 Americans suffered serious injuries in these accidents, and 658 people were fatally injured. 

Alcohol is a factor in many recreational boating accidents, so penalties for getting caught driving a boat while under the influence are severe. If you have been arrested for boating under the influence of alcohol (BUI), it is important to seek legal representation immediately so your rights and future are protected.

BUI Arrests and Convictions in Tennessee

While boating can be a fun and vibrant adventure, and a perfect time to relax and enjoy time with friends and family, driving a boat while inebriated can come with significant legal consequences. Under Tennessee state law, operating a boat while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is prohibited. A boater can be convicted of a BUI if they are noticeably impaired or have a blood-alcohol content over the legal driving limit of .08. The vast majority of BUIs in Tennessee are charged as Class A misdemeanors. 

If you have been accused of BUI, and this instance was your first offense, you could face up to $2,500 in fines and 11 months and 29 days in jail, with possible boating license revocation up to one year. A second BUI conviction results in the same maximum fine and jail sentence, and a two-year license suspension. With a third BUI conviction, you could face up to $5,000 in fines and minimum three-year license revocation, with a maximum of 10 years. A third conviction also comes with a minimum jail sentence of 30 days.

Contact a Jacksboro BUI Defense Lawyer  

At The Law Office of William F. Evans, our top concern is protecting the rights of our clients. If you have been charged with BUI, it is important to understand the potential short-term and long-term consequences that may result from the offense. With years of experience helping clients charged with driving under the influence, we can pursue a diversionary program that can help you avoid a conviction, or limit potential legal consequences, including monetary fines and possible jail time. To schedule a free consultation with a Campbell County criminal defense team you can trust, contact us today at 423-449-7980. 



Lead Councel TACDL Elite Lawyer Top 40 Under 40 Tennessee Trial Lawyers Association National College of DUI Defense Member DWI Detection Certificate
Back to Top