Offices in Knoxville and Jacksboro, TN
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Call for a Free Consultation | We are Available 24/7

Call Us423-449-7980

We are Available 24/7

Can I Be Charged with a Felony for a DUI in Tennessee?

Posted on in DUI/DWI

Knoxville felony DUI defense lawyerWhile most DUI arrests result in misdemeanor charges, there are certain circumstances under which you could be facing much more serious felony DUI charges. Beyond the serious fines and prison time, having a felony on your record can impact your future job prospects and limit your housing choices.

Whether it Is because of repeated DUI arrests or other aggravating circumstances, you need to contact an experienced DUI attorney to defend you. Do not wait. Get legal help immediately.

Circumstances That Bring Felony Charges for a DUI

While being charged with a DUI is in itself a serious matter, there are several reasons why you may be facing felony charges related to your DUI arrest. These include:

  • If you have more than three DUIs – For your fourth and subsequent DUI charges, you are facing Class E felony charges. You are facing a minimum of 150 days in jail, fines of up to $15,000, and will have your driver’s license revoked for eight years. If you would like to qualify for any limited driving relief programs, you would be subject to participate in a drug or alcohol treatment program and have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle. 
  • If you seriously injure or kill someone – It does not matter if it is your first DUI arrest, serious injury or death are considered aggravating circumstances and result in felony charges. With a DUI accident that causes an injury, you may face Vehicular Assault charges and face between two and 12 years in prison with driver’s license revocation of up to five years. If your DUI results in the death of another individual, you will be charged with Vehicular Homicide. This charge carries a penalty of eight to 30 years in prison, a fine of up to $25,000, and a license revocation of between three and 10 years. 
  • If you have a minor as a passenger – You could face Class D felony child endangerment charges if you have a passenger under the age of 18 at the time you are pulled over. This carries a maximum sentence of 12 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. 

Aggravated Vehicular Assault or Aggravated Vehicular Homicide charges could be added if you have prior DUI convictions and will carry longer prison sentences, higher fines, and a longer license revocation. 

Trust a Knox County DUI Defense Lawyer

If you are facing felony DUI charges, it is essential that you contact a Knoxville DUI attorney who can develop an aggressive defense. At The Law Office of William F. Evans, we know the long-lasting impact that a felony can have on your life and will do everything we can to fight the charges. Call our office today at 423-449-7980 to schedule your free initial consultation. 

 

Source: 

https://www.tn.gov/safety/publicsafety/duioutline.html

Lead Councel TACDL Elite Lawyer Top 40 Under 40 Tennessee Trial Lawyers Association National College of DUI Defense Member DWI Detection Certificate
Back to Top